T20 World Cup 2024

The USA selects Corey Anderson for the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup.

Corey Anderson, a former all-rounder from New Zealand, has been called up to the USA’s 15-man team for the men’s T20 World Cup in the Caribbean and USA in 2024. After playing a key role in three World Cups for the New Zealand team, including a spectacular home campaign in the 50-over event in 2015, Anderson is about to rekindle his romance with ICC competitions.

Squad: Michael Taylor, Corey Anderson, Nitish Kumar, Shayan Jahangir (wk), Milind Kumar, Ali Khan, Saurabh Netravalkar, Jessy Singh, Shadley Van Schalkwyk, Harmeet Singh, Nosthush Kenjige, Nisarg Patel, and captain Monank Patel.

Recalled in time for the USA’s historic World Cup debut is Shayan Jahangir. The aggressive batter who kept wickets was called on in place of Gajanand Singh. Unexpectedly, Jahangir, the former Pakistan U19 player, was left out of the Canada T20 series even though he ended up being the top run scorer at the World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe—the USA’s final international match before a protracted break. Gajanand, however, might feel unfairly treated after being eliminated due to his poor performance in the Canada series, where he received scores of 0 and 1*.

After a protracted injury layoff that caused him to miss both the Canada series and the national T20, USA’s lucky charm Ali Khan is back. Usman Rafiq, an off-spinner who was benched after making just one appearance in the Canada series and scoring 24 runs in two overs, was replaced by Ali.

The cornerstones of the American batting lineup, Aaron Jones and Monank Patel, have been kept in their captain and vice-captain positions, respectively. In his lone appearance in the Canada series, former captain of Canada Nitish Kumar won himself another ticket to a global event with a powerful 64 when the USA found themselves in a precarious position. When Nitish was seventeen years old, he played his first ODI World Cup for Canada on the subcontinent. The remaining batting alternatives in the USA squad are Andries Gous, Steven Taylor, and former Delhi and RCB batsman Milind Kumar.

Along with the seasoned Saurabh Netravalkar, Jessy Singh, and Shadley Van Schalkwyk, Ali will lead the USA pace battery. With the addition of Nosthush Kenjige, Nisarg Patel, and former Mumbai and India U19 spinner Harmeet Singh, USA selectors continued their three-pronged left-arm spin assault formula.

As part of their World Cup preparations, the USA will begin a three-match Twenty20 International series against Bangladesh on May 21.