Shami fifer restricts Australia to 276

Mohammed Shami, who finished with a 5-51 total, was India’s best bowler. India scored a lot of runs during their innings, which ultimately enabled them to hold Australia to 276 runs.

India elected to bowl, and Shami opened the scoring by catching Mitchell Marsh at single wide slip in the opening over. David Warner and Steve Smith put together a valiant 94-run stand as Australia responded. The former exacted revenge on India by scoring his 29th ODI fifty after being dropped on 14 by Shreyas Iyer at mid off. Despite the bowlers’ lack of help, Smith kept one end busy over the middle overs, and Warner was set to up the ante.

But Warner’s attempt against Jadeja failed because he camped out too far. For the second round, Shami entered the ring right away and promptly defeated Smith. Australia recovered from the two hits with a strong stand between Marnus Labuschagne and Cameron Green before a protracted rain delay stopped play.

Labuschagne was fairly unlucky to be out stumped by a ricochet from KL Rahul’s pad, and R Ashwin quickly claimed another ODI wicket. Despite India’s terrible fielding throughout the entire game, Cameron Green was dismissed after Josh Inglis made a critical error.

Australia responded with a counterattacking partnership that scored 62 runs in 41 balls thanks to Marcus Stoinis and Inglis’ excuses. Inglis’ sliced six against Bumrah over extra cover was the greatest hit of the inning and a display of the pair’s deadly power-hitting.

Australia thought they had a chance to escape when Shami returned, but he bowled Stoinis first before trapping Inglis at deep midwicket. Sean Abbott’s final run was justified since he persevered through a slower delivery to secure his second five-for in ODIs. Cummins contributed to Australia eventually surpassing 270 with a 21 on the 9-ball.

Brief Scores: 

Australia 276 all out in 50 overs (David Warner 52, Josh Inglis 45; Mohammed Shami 5-51) vs India.

Scroll to Top