Shakib, Tamim shift franchises as BPL auction looms

Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan, two seasoned athletes from Bangladesh, will play for new teams in the forthcoming Bangladesh Premier League, which will be auctioned off on September 24. It’s expected that Shakib, who opted to quit the Fortune Barisal team, will rejoin the Rangpur Riders. Tamim Iqbal, a fellow veteran who joins from the Khulna Tigers, will take his position.

Rashid Khan, Wanindu Hasaranga, and Babar Azam are three of the 443 foreign athletes whose bids will be auctioned off. The 203 local players that the BPL’s governing body selected for the next season were split into six categories. Mushfiqur Rahim is the only player in category A whose value exceeds BDT 80 lakhs.

There are four cricketers in B category (BDT 50 Lakh), 18 players in C category (BDT 30 Lakh), 31 cricketers in D category (BDT 20 Lakh), 75 cricketers in E category (BDT 15 Lakh), 29 players in F category (BDT 10 Lakh) and 45 cricketers in G category (BDT 5 Lakhs).

Soumya Sarkar was chosen for the Bangladesh ODI team for the current home series against New Zealand. He might play in the World Cup. It’s intriguing to see him listed in the D category because he was also selected for the starting XI for the series opener, which was postponed due to severe weather.

Former Bangladesh all-rounder Nasir Hossain was in charge of the Dhaka franchise during the previous season. Nevertheless, he was not picked in the domestic player draft. He was one of eight individuals the ICC accused of wrongdoing in the Abu Dhabi T10 League earlier this week. The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) did not suspend him because the probe is still ongoing.

Nasir was charged with three offences: failing to disclose to the DACO that he had received gifts exceeding $700; failing to fully disclose to the DACO any approaches or invitations to engage in corrupt behaviour in violation of the Code; and failing or refusing to cooperate with any DACO investigation into potential corrupt behaviour in violation of the Code without compelling justification.

In 2017, Nasir finished his tenure with Bangladesh. According to a member of the selection panel, “We have not included him in the BPL players list because there is a corruption accusation against him and he cannot take part in any domestic event (in Bangladesh) until he is freed from it.”

Scroll to Top