In RCB’s historic victory, spinners take the lead

In a clinical manner, Royal Challengers Bangalore defeated Delhi Capitals to win the Women’s Premier League 2024. Following a brilliant show of spin bowling that held Delhi Captials to just 113, RCB ensured they stayed on course for the chase and easily won by taking eight wickets.

cautious and methodical

There was some pressure to chase a low total, but RCB, with captain Smriti Mandhana at the helm, made sure they did not give in to it. Despite DC’s best efforts to equalize, Mandhana and an attacking Sophie Devine put up a 49-run opening stand. With all of her expertise, Shikha Pandey gave up just 11 runs in her four overs while also trapping Devine leg before wicket. But Ellyse Perry, another veteran, joined Mandhana, and she finished unbeaten at 37 balls, 35.

RCB maintains composure

There were never many glitches in the chase, but when Mandhana was removed with 32 needed off of 36 balls, DC saw an opportunity. They succeeded in dragging the match into the decisive over, where five were required. However, Richa Ghosh struck one over cover for a boundary to break RCB’s trophy drought after singles off the opening few balls.

64/0 through 113 all out

After getting off to a brilliant start, the Delhi Capitals had a stunning collapse. In Sophie Molineux’s three-wicket over, things turned around. She first caught the onslaught Shafali Varma at deep midwicket, then she rattled Alice Capsey’s and Jemimah Rodrgues’ stumps with successive deliveries. The game changed dramatically in the eighth over of the innings as the Delhi Capitals staggered and lost ground against the RCB’s potent spin attack.

Again, spin to win

RCB’s spin attack was outstanding on the day of the final, much as they had controlled Mumbai Indians in the qualifier. Even with Molineux’s three-wicket over, DC’s success depended on their captain, Meg Lanning. But Shreyanka Patil tightened the screws and kept things straightforward by concentrating on the stumps. When Marizanne Kapp and Jess Jonassen attempted to hit big hits, Asha Shobana grabbed them both, and Lanning missed one trying to work it on the onside to be stuck LBW. Patil concluded by completing the lower order, resulting in impressive figures of 4–12. With a collective masterclass in defensive spin bowling on a track that wasn’t harboring too many demons, as Shafali had already demonstrated, the spin-choke was completed.

The initial assault

After deciding to bat, Delhi’s final score was far from what had been promised. Lanning and Shafali, the most productive duo in the WPL, gave DC another brilliant start as the latter struck first. A belligerent Shafali bludgeoned Renuka Singh right down the ground for a six, and even Perry was not spared as she was tonked for 28 in her opening two overs. Shafali scored 44 runs in the first 64 runs of the opening stand, smashing three sixes and two fours in total. But the promise unraveled so quickly that DC was left stunned at the end of the innings, and RCB capitalized on the momentum to win their first-ever WPL title.

Delhi Capitals 113 in 18 in brief scores.Royal Challengers Bangalore 115/2 in 19 was lost in 3 overs (Shafali Varma 44; Shreyanka Patil 4-12, Sophie Molineux 3-20).3 overs (Shikha Pandey 1-11, Ellyse Perry 35*, Sophie Devine 32) by 8 wickets.

Scroll to Top