History ICC Champions Trophy

Wills International Cup (in Bangladesh) 1998/99

The 1998 ICC Champions trophy (officially known as Wills International Cup) was a One Day International cricket tournament held in Bangladesh. It was the first tournament apart from the World Cups to involve all test playing nations. New Zealand defeated Zimbabwe in a pre-quarter final match to qualify for the main knockout stage. Future editions of this tournament are now known as the ICC Champions Trophy. Appearing in their only major tournament final, South Africa defeated the West Indies in the final to win the event.

ICC KnockOut (in Kenya) 2000/01

The 2000 ICC KnockOut Trophy was a One Day International cricket tournament held in Kenya (which helped to increase the popularity of cricket in Kenya). New Zealand were crowned champions and cashed the winner’s cheque of US$250 000. India, Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa qualified for the semi-finals by beating Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and England respectively. In the semi-finals, New Zealand beat Pakistan and India beat South Africa to qualify for the Finals. The final of the 2000 ICC KnockOut Trophy took place on 15 October 2000 at the Gymkhana Club Ground in Nairobi, Kenya. It was played between India and New Zealand. New Zealand won the final by four wickets to win their first ICC KnockOut Trophy, their first win at an ICC event.

ICC Champions Trophy (in England) 2004

The 2004 ICC Champions Trophy was held in England in September 2004. These were the 12 teams picked to take part in the 2004 ICC Champions Trophy, the third instalment of the Champions Trophy cricket tournament. The tournament was held in England from 10 September to 25 September 2004. The ICC Champions Trophy was won by the West Indies in front of a sell-out Oval crowd. Ramnaresh Sarwan was named the Player of the Tournament.

ICC Champions Trophy (in India) 2006/07

The 2006 ICC Champions Trophy was a One Day International cricket tournament held in India from 7 October to 5 November 2006. It was the fifth edition of the ICC Champions Trophy (previously known as the ICC Knock-out).  Australia won the tournament, their first Champions Trophy victory. They were the only team to get one loss in the tournament, as all other teams lost at least two matches. West Indies, their final opponents, beat Australia in the group stage but were bowled out for 138 in the final and lost by eight wickets on the Duckworth–Lewis method.

ICC Champions Trophy (in South Africa) 2009/10

The 2009 ICC Champions Trophy was a One Day International cricket tournament held in South Africa between 22 September and 5 October, at Wanderers Stadium and Centurion Park, both in the Gauteng province. Originally, the tournament was scheduled to be hosted by Pakistan in 2008, but due to security concerns it shifted to South Africa. It was the sixth ICC Champions Trophy, and was previously known as the ICC Knock-out. Two teams from two groups of four qualified for the semi-finals, and the final was staged in Centurion on 5 October. Australia successfully defended the title by beating New Zealand by six wickets in the final.

ICC Champions Trophy (in England) 2013

The 2013 ICC Champions Trophy was the seventh ICC Champions Trophy, a One Day International cricket tournament held in England and Wales between 6 and 23 June 2013. India won the competition, beating England by five runs in the final after overcoming South Africa, the West Indies and Pakistan in the group stage, followed by a semi-final victory over Sri Lanka. As winners, India earned $2 million in prize money, the largest amount since the tournament’s inception. It was due to be the final ICC Champions Trophy.

ICC Champions Trophy (in England) 2017

The 2017 ICC Champions Trophy was the eighth ICC Champions Trophy, a cricket tournament for the eight top-ranked One Day International (ODI) teams in the world. It was held in England and Wales from 1 to 18 June 2017. Pakistan won the competition for the first time with a 180-run victory over India in the final at The Oval. The margin of victory was the largest by any team in the final of an ICC ODI tournament in terms of runs.

Scroll to Top