Top awards go to Ravindra and Kerr at the NZC Awards

Melie Kerr and Rachin Ravindra took up the top prizes at the Christchurch New Zealand Cricket Awards.

While Kerr won the Debbie Hockley Medal for a second year in a row, Ravindra, 24, became the youngest player to win the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal. In addition, Kerr was named Player of the Year for both the ODI and T20I formats.

The Test Player of the Year award went to Kane Williamson, who just scored his 32nd century in a Test match. Men’s ODI Player of the Year went to Daryl Mitchell, while the comparable T20I title went to Mitchell Santner.

Ravindra tied Kane Williamson’s 2019 World Cup record with his 578 runs at the 2023 World Cup, capping a tremendous year for him in international cricket. He subsequently followed up his Test cricket achievement with a brilliant 240 against South Africa in the opening Test, and he was a major factor in New Zealand’s first-ever victory over the opposition in a Test series.

Conversely, Kerr was acknowledged as the top individual scorer in the ODI, amassing 541 runs at an average of 67. In addition, she was her team’s second-highest scorer of T20I runs and tied for first in T20 wickets.

Entire list of the Cricket Awards in New Zealand:

  • Rachin Ravindra, winner of the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal
  • Melie Kerr Earns the Debbie Hockley Medal
  • Trudy Anderson received the Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Exceptional Services to Cricket.
  • Kane Williamson is the Test Player of the Year.
  • Daryl Mitchell is the Men’s ODI Player of the Year.
  • Melie Kerr was named Women’s ODI Player of the Year.
  • Mitchell Santner is the Men’s T20I Player of the Year.
  • Melie Kerr was named Women’s T20I Player of the Year.
  • Nathan Smith is the Men’s Domestic Player of the Year.
  • Emma Black won the title of Women’s Domestic Player of the Year.
  • Danru Ferns, the Super Smash Men’s Player of the Year
  • Melie Kerr was named Super Smash Women’s Player of the Year.
  • Kane Williamson won the Redpath Cup for men’s first-class batting.
  • Suzie Bates won the Ruth Martin Cup for women’s domestic batting.
  • Matt Henry won the Winsor Cup for men’s first-class bowling.
  • Emma Black won the Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowling.
  • Chris Brown is the GJ Gardner Homes New Zealand Umpire of the Year.
Scroll to Top