Surrey’s Record Triumph: Witness 2nd Highest County Championship Run Chase

Division One

Kent vs Surrey

Ben Foakes and Dom Sibley then struck hundreds as Surrey beat Kent by 501 runs in an excellent day of cricket in Canterbury. On the fourth day at Stumps, Surrey got 263/3, mainly largely the result of Jamie Smith’s scorching 114 off just 77 balls. Building a 207-run partnership, Sibley, who was unbeaten at 61, and Foakes, who was batting at 22, increased their team’s advantage.

After being bowled out for 145 in the first essay, Surrey was able to pull off a dramatic comeback win due to the bravery of Sibley, Jordan Clark (26), and Foakes, who all fell. Surrey’s 501/5 for a successful fourth innings pursuit was only a score higher than Surrey’s than Middlesex’s 502/6 against Nottinghamshire in 1925. Surrey set a target of 410 when they faced Kent as their previous opponent.

Brief scores:

Kent 301 (Jordan Cox 133, Joey Evison 58; Sean Abbott 4-52) & 344 (Tawanda Muyeye 79, Hamidullah Qadri 72; Jordan Clark 5-79) lost to Surrey 145 (Sean Abbott 34; Matt Quinn 3-22, Wes Agar 3-32) & 501/5 (Dom Sibley 140*Ben Foakes 124, Jamie Smith 114; Arshdeep Singh 2-90) by 5 wickets.

Essex vs Somerset

By a total of 196 runs, Essex defeated Somerset in Chelmsford, including Sam Cook, Matt Critchley, Jamie Porter, Simon Harmer, and others. Sam Cook also claimed he was fired before. When the day began, Somerset’s odds of winning were 172/4. Tom Abell, he went unbeaten all night at 53, increased to 83 just before leaving. Following then, Somerset didn’t put up much of a fight, slipping to 2-2 in the game following losing their final six wickets for 41 runs.

Brief scores: 

 Essex 462/9 deck. (Alastair Cook 128, Matt Critchley 121; Josh Davey 3-88) & 170/7 deck. (Matt Critchley 52; Kasey Aldridge 4-36) beat Somerset 167 (Sean Dickson 82*; Simon Harmer 5-64, Jamie Porter 3-38) & 269 (Tom Abell 83, Tom Lammonby 59; Jamie Porter 3-31) by 196 runs.

Lancashire vs Hampshire

thLancashire upset Hampshire by a score of six wickets in the County Championship this year, giving them the first win in five games. Lancashire was 48/2 at the start on the day and needed 140 to win the fourth innings. Dane Vilas (64*) and Josh Bohannon (37), who started their stand after Lancashire dropped to 5/2 on Day 3, extended it to 87 in order to bring their team closer. Hampshire eliminated Bohannon and Daryl Mitchell, while Vilas and Rob Jones continued to play for their team victory.

Brief scores:

Hampshire 142 (Keith Barker 44; Will Williams 3-14, Tom Bailey 3-29) & 371 (James Vince 87, Fletcha Middleton 77; George Balderson 3-84) lost to Lancashire 374 (Phil Salt 103, Daryl Mitchell 68; Felix Organ 6-67) & 142/4 (Dane Vilas 64*Josh Bohannon 37; Mohammad Abbas 2-30) by 6 wickets.

Nottinghamshire vs Warwickshire

The contest between Nottinghamshire and Warwickshire ended in a draw, and Joe Clarke’s unbroken 229 was the highlight of the last day of action in Nottingham. Nottinghamshire was given the task of winning the game after being requested to carry on after being dismissed for 155 in their first innings in response to the opposition’s declared score of 571/9. They were still 149 runs down as they started the day at 267/4.

Despite Nottinghamshire losing Steven Mullaney (48) earlier in the day, Clarke was able to assist with his team win a draw despite not being the favourite to do so thanks to partnerships with Tom Moores and Calvin Harrison.

Brief scores: 

Warwickshire 571/9 decl. (Sam Hain 100, Alex Davies 93; drew with Nottinghamshire 155 (Tom Moores 42; Hasan Ali 3-30) & 464/6 (Joe Clarke 229*; Chris Rushworth 3-73).

Division Two

Yorkshire vs. Derbyshire

On the final day of the Division 2 game in Chesterfield, Yorkshire beat Derbyshire by three wickets. After Matthew Fisher’s five-wicket haul helped Yorkshire eliminate Derbyshire for 111 in the first innings, Dawid Malan’s 106 and Shan Masood’s 67 helped Yorkshire reach 353, giving them a 242-run first-inning advantage. Derbyshire scored 453 runs after coming from being 17-4 to 294-5 thanks to a 277-run stand that started by middle-order hundreds from captain Leus de Plooy (170) and Haider Ali (146). 

They established a 211-run advantage due to a brave efficiency, and complicated Yorkshire’s last two innings. After Mark Watt’s four-wicket haul, Yorkshire was in trouble at 147-7 and needed 65 runs to win with three wickets left. However, a 68-run unbroken stand noticed Dom Bess and Shan Masood won a strong Division 2 game.

Brief Scores:

Derbyshire 111 (Leus de Plooy 28, Matthew Fisher 5-28) and 453 (Leus de Plooy 170, Haider Ali 146, Matthew Fisher 3-70) lost to Yorkshire 353 (Dawid Malan 106, Mark Watt 5-83) and 215-7(Shan Masood 95*, Dom Bess 41*, Mark Watt 4-74) by 3 wickets

Glamorgan vs Durham

The score was amount halfway through the third inning of the high-scoring match between Durham and Glamorgan at Chester-le-Street. After Glamorgan scored 390 runs in the first innings through Kiran Carlsen’s 162 runs, Durham scored 630 in the first innings thanks to hundreds in David Bedingham and Oliver Robinson. It gives Durham a 240-run border. Glamorgan opened the second innings in a lead of almost 200 runs thanks to Chris Cooke’s century. The teams next switched places because, even if a declaration were to be made, it would be hard to pick up ten wickets in the time left.

Brief Scores:

Glamorgan 390 (Kiran Carlsen 162, Craig Miles 4-73, Ben Raine, 4-79) and 426-7 (Chris Cooke 134*, Tim van der Guuten 52*, Bas de Leede 4-76) drew withDurham 630 (David Bedingham 151, Oliver Robinson 102, Andy Gorvin 3-88)

Gloucestershire vs Leicestershire

In the last innings in the Division 2 game in Bristol, Leicestershire overcame Gloucestershire by five wickets under the guidance of Colin Ackermann and Rehan Ahmed. Danny Lamb (70), Ajeet Dale (52), Oliver Price (85), and Lewis Hill (100), batters further down the order, saw Leicestershire win second with 350 runs, only sixteen runs behind Gloucestershire, who won the match with 368 runs. 

Therefore, 221 runs were needed for Leicestershire to win the game. They were victorious via Rehan Ahmed 71 and Colin Ackermann’s boundary-filled 78. As a result of Chris Wright and Callum Parkinson’s four-wicket attempts, Gloucestershire fell for 202.

Brief Scores:

Gloucestershire 368 and 202 (Miles Hammond 48, Chris Wright 4-49)lost to Leicestershire 350 and 221-5(Colin Ackermann 78*, Rehan Ahmed 71, Danny Lamb 2-27)

Sussex vs Worcestershire

Nathan McAndrew and Jack Carson’s runs at the bottom of the order let Sussex get 348 runs, but Joe Leach’s six-wicket haul (6-78) was the game’s highlight. Jake Libby got 198 in the first inning, however, giving Worcestershire a 62-run advantage. After scoring 447-7, Sussex declared and gave Worcestershire 386 to win.

When time ran out, Worcestershire was also only five runs off of the goal, allowing Sussex to escape with a draw. Azhar Ali and Jake Libby both scored 97, which pushed the total to the hundreds.

Brief scores:

Sussex 348 and 447-7 dec.(Tom Alsop 100*, Tom Haines 91, Matthew Waite 2-64) drew with Worcestershire 410 and 381-8 (Azhar Ali 101, Jake Libby 97, Aristides Karvelas 3-60)

Scroll to Top