Smith, Warner return to T20I squad for India series

Four days later, Australia’s 15-man squad, captained by Matthew Wade, would go to India for a five-match Twenty20 International series following the 2023 World Cup Final in November.

In order to prepare for the upcoming Test summer, the World Cup-winning trio of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Josh Hazlewood, as well as all-rounders Mitchell Marsh and Cameron Green, have been rested. Ashton Agar was not selected because he is still healing from a calf injury.

David Warner and Steve Smith, who were absent from the South Africa trip, have rejoined the Twenty20 team.


The following players: Tanveer Sangha, Glenn Maxwell, Adam Zampa, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, David Warner, Nathan Ellis, and Matthew Wade

The selection panel head, George Bailey, described the side that was selected as “an experienced squad with a mixture of players who have had their first opportunity on the international stage and that we hope will continue to develop into important players in our T20 group.”

The fact that Matthew, a former squad captain and organisational leader, will be leading this series excites us. As with Mitch Marsh in the South Africa series, this is an excellent opportunity to learn more about global leadership in-depth.

Playing at home against India is never easy. Eight players in the current ODI World Cup squad and travelling reserve Tanveer Sangha have the most experience playing in India.”

Scroll to Top