Pragyan Ojha may leave IPL GC; decision likely at Goa AGM

Two significant initiatives that are currently under consideration are the Women’s Premier League (WPL) Governing Council and the Indian Premier League (IPL) Governing Council. The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is expected to produce a number of major decisions.

According to information obtained by Cricbuzz, the IPL Governing Council may be changed to include the selection of a players’ representative, a post currently held by Pragyan Ojha. Insiders claim that the 37-year-old former Indian spinner is thinking about going it alone.

Before being chosen for the role by the Indian Cricketers’ Association (CA) last year, Ojha served on the council for three years. Even if he may play for a few more years or even longer, the former Hyderabad spinner doesn’t seem interested in doing so.

This topic is briefly mentioned during the AGM. Third on the agenda is “Induction of 1 (one) representative of the Indian Cricketers’ Association in the Governing Council of the IPL.”

Despite the agenda item’s relatively broad reach, Cricbuzz has learned that Ojha would resign, requiring the ICA to hold a new election to choose a new Governing Council delegate.

The BCCI established the WPL last year, and a Governing Council could follow.

“Election and induction of 2 (two) representatives of the General Body in the Governing Council of the IPL” is the second item on the agenda for the meeting on September 25. It is anticipated that the two current members, Arun Singh Dhumal from the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) and Avishek Dalmiya from the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA), will continue in their roles.

The most important item on the schedule might be the evaluation of the men’s selection committee, but there is also a slot for the nomination of the Ombudsman and Ethics Officer. This issue may be decided upon during the general body meeting. The committee may be reorganised by December with a few adjustments, it has been suggested. It’s important to keep in mind that Ajit Agarkar will continue to serve as chairman.

Scroll to Top