Chetan Sharma chairs North Zone selection meeting; picks Mandeep Singh as Duleep Trophy captain]

Former Indian all-rounder Chetan Sharma decided to play for the North Zone squad this year. The meeting of the North Zone selection committee was presided over for Sharma . Who had previously resigned from the position as the head selector for the Indian squad as a result of a news channel sting operation. The conference’s chairman is Anirudh Chaudhry, a former treasurer for the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

The interview took place at Gurgaon Cricket Ground on June 15. For the next Duleep Trophy Mandeep Singh selected as the captain of the North Zone team . Which will hold in Bangalore from June 28 to July 16.. The committee, led by Chetan Sharma, chose the final fifteen people as well as eight alternates. The panel made the coach and support personnel for the zonal side public.

This is an aspect of a comeback for Chetan Sharma, who supervised the national selection committee for the previous three years. In February, he was compelling to leave the job due to the sting operation issue

The Indian team has been without a selectors’ chairperson since that time. Shiv Sundar Das of Odisha has been acting as chief selector in the North Zone as the BCCI searches for a replacement for Chetan Sharma.

Representatives of the North Zone denied to address to the media despite admitting they were in charge of the meeting as convenor Chaudhry should. For a time, Chaudhry was unavailable.

North Zone squad:

Prabhsimran Singh (wicket-keeper), Prashant Chopra, Dhruv Shorey, Ankit Kalsi, Mandeep Singh (captain), Ankit Kumar, Pulkit Narang, Nishant Sindhu, Manan Vohra, Jayant Yadav, Baltej Singh, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Sidharth Kaul, Abid Mushtaq

The stand-bys:

Mayank Dagar, Mayank Markande, Ravi Chauhan, Anmol Malhotra, Nehal Wadehra, Diwesh Pathania, Divij Mehra, Kunal Mahajan

Support staff:


 Ajay Ratra, Physiotherapist: Deepak Surya, Trainer: Rajneesh Mehta, Performance Analyst: Amit Sharma, Masseur: Naresh Kumar Motla, Manager: Col. Ishan A Khan.

Scroll to Top